Double-Crested Cormorants

220px-Phalacrocorax-auritus-007

Features:

The Double-crested Cormorant has a large black body and is 70-90 centimeters. They are about the same in length and wingspan as the Great Blue Heron. Have you ever seen a Great Horned Owl? They have feather/horns on their heads just like Double-crested Cormorants. Watching them fly is amazing. They stretch out their long neck and fly with their great and powerful wings. I haven’t yet seen a pack flying together, just one by itself.

Habitat:

The Double-crested Cormorant is another bird that I see a lot of while biking, I first saw one a year or two back at the coast. I looked through my binoculars at a large rock/cliff. I saw a rather large black bird with a long neck and its nestlings. Not on the top of the rock but on a ledge. As I returned to the Coast on Mother’s Day, I saw the same bird. I had suspected before that it was the same bird and now have proof. When biking, I saw it in two places, in a large pond and in the river. I have also seen a flock of Cormorants in trees. There are usually around 12-15 in the tree. Double-crested Cormorants have a variety of habitats and nesting sites, more than any other birds that I know of. They nest in trees, on 20 foot rocks/cliffs, and on the ground.

Diet and Diving:

When I first moved next to the ponds, I saw a Double-crested Cormorant and watched it for a long time, but then it dove into the water. It was underneath the surface for a long time. They weren’t like ducks, where you can still see their feet but their heads are in the water, and they don’t stay in the same place. The Double-crested Cormorant eats a lot of fish and sometimes insects. When Flamingoes go fishing, they dive into the water and can hold their breath for a long time. I found that the Double-crested Cormorant is just like flamingoes. I waited for about 70 seconds and then it stuck head out of the water. When I saw/see them in the river, they are usually in packs of about 10. All fishing together, and popping up their heads.

 

About faithelise

I love learning about species of birds and want to be an Ornathologist. Writing about birds is my passion and I love every part of it!
This entry was posted in Bird Watching, nonfiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

